The Institute of Chartered Accountants Ghana

You are here:: About Us Inside ICAG Study Programmes

Study Programmes

E-mail Print PDF


The Institute currently runs two distinct programmes.

  1. The Professional Programme
  2. The Technician Programme, known as the Accounting Technician Scheme West Africa (ATSWA) Programme.

A candidate who successfully completes the ICAG professional programme and has obtaied working experience in accountancy and approved by ICAG Council, qualifies to use the designatory letter ‘CA’ after his/her name.Successful completion of the ATSWA programme, however, opens up a way for people to take up middle-level managerial jobs and can serve a good introduction to the very determined who may wish to proceed to the professional programme. They can also pursue to CA professional programme to qualify as chartered accountants.

ICAG Chartered Diploma Programme

The Chartered Diploma programme is a professional diploma with specialization in various fields of business related to the accountancy profession. As an innovative programme initated by the Institute, the courses focus on equipping participants with specialized skills in for example:

  • Forensic Audit
  • Oil & Gas Accounting
  • Corporate Finance Management
  • Treasury and Risk Management
  • International Auditing & Governance
  • Public Sector Accounting
  • Legal Accountancy & Finance

Currently, the Institute is running courses for Forensic Audit and Oil & Gas Accounting.

International Affiliations/Networking

The Institute of Chartered Accountants (Ghana) is a member of two international bodies.  These are:

  • ABWA- Association of Accountancy Bodies in West Africa
  • IFAC  -  International Federation of Accountants
  • PAFA - Pan African Federation of Accountants

While ABWA is a sub-regional grouping of accountancy bodies in West Africa, IFAC is worldwide association, with headquarters in New York, USA and PAFA is headquartered in South Africa.The member countries of ABWA are:

  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • The Gambia
  • Liberia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Senegal
  • Togo
  • Benin
  • Cote d’voire
  • Cameroon